Being a Stay At Home Goddess: The Darker Side

I love my children.  Thor and I made the conscious decision for me to quit work and stay home with our children.  You get one shot at this and we thought (and still do think) it was the right decision to make.

Having said that, there are some pitfalls to being a stay at home goddess.

  • No sick days.  I have a crappy head cold right now and all I want to do is dive into some decongestant and sleep it off for 12 hours.  That’s just not happening with a 4 year old here.
  • I think about food more than I want to.  I prepare approximately 3 meals a day, 7 days a week.  You do the math.  That’s not including snacks and trying to account for the fact that sometimes the offspring prepare their own breakfast.  Unless I don’t want cereal and milk all over the table and floor.  Then I prepare breakfast too.  I’m kidding (half-kidding anyway)! Thor Jr is an accomplished cereal/milk pourer.  Little Athena on the other hand, likes to coat the table in Raisin Bran.  According to her, it’s easier to pick out the raisins that way.  Smart cookie, that one is.
  • Isolation.  In our diverse neighbourhood, a majority of the stay at home caregivers are grandparents who don’t speak English.  Add that to the fact that once you have kids you become busy all the time and it’s hard for schedules to mesh with other goddesses’.

That’s all I can think of for now.  My sinuses are preventing brilliant thoughts from forming so this is as good as it gets today.

Comments are closed.

